A Story YOU want to write…


This picture shows a sheet of paper.

Image via Wikipedia

McCoy Tyner wrote, “Sometimes I just hear a phrase, and then that phrase suggests the next, sort of a domino effect that keeps building until I hear a song.”  When I read that quote I read that if we keep writing and just write what comes out of our heads then those words on paper will speak and the next thing you know you are writing a story you want to write.

A Story you want to write!

We all know that writers WRITE!  We all know they started SOMEWHERE!  It all begins with a decision to write what you want to write.  So one day I finally said to myself, Jackie SHUT UP, and WRITE IT.

What IT is has begun in this blog.

Here is a great exercise to help you get started:

Get a sheet of paper and make a list of everyone who’s in the room with you trying to NOT help you to write.  You know those people who have told you, (NAME)__________you will never write a book, you can’t write it’s just not who you are; they can be from the past or present.  List your parents, teachers, spouses, relatives, strangers, authors, publishers, bloggers, friends, and children.  These people have told you that “you cannot be a writer.”  Oh and the most important voice is YOU.  Yes, YOU!  The voice in my head says, nobody will read what I write, who cares about what I have to say, this is old information and outdated, I don’t know if I can write, etc.

Now to finish this exercise all you do is fold it up and burn it, or put it in an envelope and seal it put it away, or put the paper into a freezer lock bag and place it in the freezer (my idea is to freeze those thoughts and WRITE AWAY)!

Today’s lesson will help you start to clear your head for a better writing day ahead.  Go Get em’!

About Jackie Paulson LOVES BOOKS

About Jackie Paulson You love to help others solve problems you are Intuitive; (Jackie uses her intuitive skills to help others solve their problems). YOU SEE THINGS OTHERS CANNOT SEE. You are great at picking up on peoples moods and predicting the future. (Jackie can predict future events by reading and feeling others moods). You know what others are THINKING before they speak a word. (Jackie is a true empath because she knows what other people are thinking before they say a word). Your Purpose in life is to SHOW LOVE TO OTHERS (Jackie can show love to others even to those who have been emotionally, mentally, physically, verbally abused). People turn to Jackie for Direction and Hope and New Ideas. (Jackie can lead others in the right direction and bring hope when there seems to be none left). I DO BOOK REVIEWS email me at jackiepaulson8@outlook.com
This entry was posted in Articles, How To, Just Write and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Story YOU want to write…

  1. Pingback: Free Copy of Donald Miller’s Book Write your Story | The Writers Help

  2. Pingback: Writing: Destination Unknown | The Writers Help

  3. “Granny1947” so very true, leaving the past behind and moving ahead full steam ahead. Thanks for helping this site a success.

  4. granny1947 says:

    Very good advice.
    Rather like putting all your problems on a list and then tearing it up and throwing it in the sea.
    I had to do that once.
    At a drug support meeting when my daughter was in rehab.
    When we got to the sea I had left my list behind.
    Go figure!

Comments? Questions? Observations?