Ant Symbolism and Meaning


Ant Symbolism and Meaning

I came home from work only to sit and type on the computer and the next thing I know I see a huge carpenter ant.  So, After I dispose of that one, I have another one on my arm.  OK, and if that was not enough I go to the bathroom where there are more Ants!  My thinking is that I am in the basement and it is normal for the Ants to want to find a warm place and it is February.

My best  friend suggested that they are coming in through the walls or underground. Possible yes, but more and more I began feeling there was something more to it because I could keep other creatures/bugs away, so why not the ants.

I decided to look up the symbolism and meaning surrounding them and what I found matches up with what has been going on in my life and things I am working on. I thought I would share with you in case you have experienced this too and like me you thought an ant was just an ant.

Insects are progressive, and proactive – always adapting to the environment, and never letting little things like natural disasters get in their way of progress. When we get discouraged, we could all learn a thing or two from insect animal totem meanings. It’s their unsinkable nature that reminds us to keep moving forward for progress.

Native American Meaning –

Ant medicine calls to our attention patience, persistence and endurance. While I sat there and listened, I thought about my level of patience and the nature of the topic at hand. “Ant people” know that there is light at the end of the tunnel. It also says, “what is yours will come to you.”  It tells you that with trust and patience, God will provide.

Chinese Meaning –

The Chinese identify the ant as “the righteious insect” and attribute orderliness, virtue, and patriotism to it; an alternate symbolism is subordination, especially that of the tireless and dutiful servant.

Islamic Meaning –

Islamic tradition honors the ant as the earthly teacher of Solomon, and an embodiment of wisdom.

Early Christian Meaning –

Go to the ant, O sluggard, and consider her ways. Proverbs 6:6

Possible Dream Meaning –

Carrying your own weight; strength; industrious. Also can symbolize annoyance, little things that bug you. Hard work, strict discipline, team work and conformity.  Also conformity to society, a need to cooperate, a cult representing overwhelming obedience to a group. Possibly also something that bugs you or pesters you. It is very important to ask the question of what does the ant make you think of since the meaning can differ so widely from person to person. Compare the meanings to what is currently going on in your life, problem, what has been bothering you or what you have recently ask for help with.

Tell me, have you ever thought of the little insects who invade your space as something you need to “clean up in your own life” or that they symbolize something?  Sometimes I feel weird about sharing such information but it will be neat to hear from all of you?
About Jackie Paulson LOVES BOOKS

About Jackie Paulson You love to help others solve problems you are Intuitive; (Jackie uses her intuitive skills to help others solve their problems). YOU SEE THINGS OTHERS CANNOT SEE. You are great at picking up on peoples moods and predicting the future. (Jackie can predict future events by reading and feeling others moods). You know what others are THINKING before they speak a word. (Jackie is a true empath because she knows what other people are thinking before they say a word). Your Purpose in life is to SHOW LOVE TO OTHERS (Jackie can show love to others even to those who have been emotionally, mentally, physically, verbally abused). People turn to Jackie for Direction and Hope and New Ideas. (Jackie can lead others in the right direction and bring hope when there seems to be none left). I DO BOOK REVIEWS email me at jackiepaulson8@outlook.com
This entry was posted in Articles, Blogs, Pinterest, post a day challenge, postadaychallenge, The Writers Help, Writing, Writing Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ant Symbolism and Meaning

  1. Pingback: Thoughts? « Jackie Paulson~Writer

  2. Jo says:

    Thanks for the enjoyment of the Ants blog. I know that we are invaded but then things calm down after awhile…..

    • Jackie Paulson says:

      Thanks for your comment and now using a natural Green remedy healthy for the environment and for the world is what needs to be done next…vs. chemicals that kill.

  3. I very often just fine 1 ant on my kitchen work top, just 1, every few months. I always just presume that it’s come in on one of the cats. never thought about symbolism before, thanks hon 🙂

    xx

  4. Excellent!
    Yes I have thought about insects and their application to my life.
    I am a strong believer in Native American culture and traditions, my oldest brother being Native.
    I believe in having a totem that stands tall and strong beside in you on Mother Earth, Your totem is representative of your community (clan) and kinship.

    My totem rep is a dragonfly. As a creature of the wind, the dragonlfy totem represents change. It’s iridescent wings are incredibly sensitive to the slightest breeze, and so we are reminded to heed where the proverbial wind blows – lest we run into stormy weather.
    And I tend to be in stormy weather a lot.

  5. nelle says:

    Good post, good outlook, good reminders. When I see such creatures in here, I carry them outside. 😉

  6. fgassette says:

    Meant LIKE. Just like sending text messages on phone wrong letters get clicked.

  7. fgassette says:

    List your post and yes I have. In fact I did research on the dragonfly and posted it here:

    http://francineinretirement.wordpress.com/2012/01/15/the-dragonfly/

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Comments? Questions? Observations?

