Books and Movies


English: Matt Damon at the 66th Venice Interna...

Image via Wikipedia

Books

In the movie Good Will Hunting Matt Damon’s famous quote was “You just spent 150 grand on an education you could have gotten for $1.50 in late fees at the public library.”

While it was a bit facetious, anybody who has received a college education probably had a bit of a chuckle because there was a kernel of truth to what was said.  One of the biggest expenses for any college student is textbooks.  But, the beauty of a public library is that it makes books accessible to everybody and it’s completely free.

When I was unemployed, the local library in my town became one of my daily to-do’s.

Unlike a book store, if I wanted to take something home and read it, I didn’t have to fork out $15.00. It might be tempting to dismiss the library as an obsolete resource, but today libraries have their whole book selection available online and even have audio books that can be downloaded directly from some of their web sites.  To add to that many published authors today have their own blogs where you can read their content as well.

About Jackie Paulson LOVES BOOKS

About Jackie Paulson You love to help others solve problems you are Intuitive; (Jackie uses her intuitive skills to help others solve their problems). YOU SEE THINGS OTHERS CANNOT SEE. You are great at picking up on peoples moods and predicting the future. (Jackie can predict future events by reading and feeling others moods). You know what others are THINKING before they speak a word. (Jackie is a true empath because she knows what other people are thinking before they say a word). Your Purpose in life is to SHOW LOVE TO OTHERS (Jackie can show love to others even to those who have been emotionally, mentally, physically, verbally abused). People turn to Jackie for Direction and Hope and New Ideas. (Jackie can lead others in the right direction and bring hope when there seems to be none left). I DO BOOK REVIEWS email me at jackiepaulson8@outlook.com
This entry was posted in Articles, Books, Just Write, postadaychallenge, Publishing, The Writers Help, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Books and Movies

  1. Pingback: Thoughts? « Jackie Paulson~Writer

  2. dogear6 says:

    I love using the library. I can take home whatever looks appealing and if I don’t like it, return it without cost.

  3. hugmamma says:

    shame on me…haven’t been in a library in sometime…have a little one of my own…in the corner of my living room…

    happy 2012… 🙂

  4. I should start using my local library but I feel good contributing financially to great writers. On the other hand I find that college textbooks are horribly overpriced. One book I was interested in was over $180! How do publishers justify the cost and how does society allow putting this burden on struggling students.

    Sorry for the rant.

  5. Libraries are an excellent resource for the community, especially since they do so much more than lend books. They hold toddler sessions for young childern, host reading & writing groups and offer coffee mornings. Here in the UK a lot of our libraries are under threat of closure due to cut backs because of the recession. Many communities are fighting to save their libraries.

  6. Arindam says:

    This one is really a great post. 🙂

  7. jakesprinter says:

    Very great and useful article here Jackie 🙂

  8. The library is like a free treasured sanctuary that holds the key for knowledge and wisdom. Since 2 Summers ago, my son and I would borrow books every 2 weeks. It’s the best, inexpensive gift we all can give to any child or anyone for that matter. As for Good Will Hunting, one of Damon’s best movie and it’s also an inspiration for those who thirst for knowledge everday. Happy Holidays to you and your family. Wow, 2011 is almost over , huh? here’s to an awesome 2012!!!

  9. nelle says:

    Well said… libraries are a vital community resource.

  10. Yes the library is invaluable indeed. When I did not have internet at home, I would use the library and it was so beneficial. I hope you are doing well Jackie. I want the best for you in your next home. Stay beautiful and enjoy the holidays.

  11. ficfaq says:

    You just about snatched the words from my mouth…great post!

Comments? Questions? Observations?

